How to save and reuse email content

Available on all plans. 

With ActiveCampaign, you can save content to reuse in your campaigns. Doing so saves you time, reduces duplicative work, and ensures consistency across your messaging. For example, if you have a footer or a styled button that you like to use in your campaigns, you can save it to avoid creating it from scratch for each new campaign.

This article will show you how to save blocks using the Email Designer and Classic Designer.

Saved blocks with the Email Designer

With the Email Designer, you can save containers, structures, and sections to your Saved Blocks library. You can also edit and delete any saved blocks you create and categorize them to make them easy to search.

Create a saved block

  1. Locate the campaign containing the content you wish to save and open it.
  2. From your email’s campaign designer, hover your mouse over the container, section, or structure you wish to save.
  3. Click the ellipsis, then click the “Save as module” option.

    image.png

  4. The saved content will appear on the right panel under “Content” > “Saved Blocks.” Here you can:
    • View and update the block name
    • View and update the block description
    • Coming Soon: Apply a category to the block. Categories include:
      • Popular
      • Preheaders
      • Headers
      • Banners
      • Blog Post
      • Set of Blog Posts
      • Product Card
      • Set of Product Cards
      • Signature
      • Footers
      • Other
  5. Add a tag to the block. Tags help you search for saved blocks
  6. Click the “Save” button when finished.

Your content block will save and appear in the saved content library on the right panel under “Content” > “Saved Blocks.”

You can drag this block to any direct campaign that uses the Email Designer.

Add a saved block to a campaign

  1. From the Email Designer, click “Content” > “Saved Blocks” located on the right panel.
  2. Drag the saved block to your campaign layout.

Edit saved block attributes

Once you create a saved block, you can edit the following:

  • Block name
  • Block description
  • Category
  • Tags

To edit a saved block:

  1. From the email designer, click “Content” > “Saved Blocks” located on the right panel.
  2. Click the block you wish to update.
  3. The right pane will display the saved block. Click the ellipsis that appears on the bottom right.
  4. Make edits to the saved block.
  5. Click the “Update” button.

Edit saved block content

Once you create a saved block, you can edit its content at any time. Once you do, you can choose to replace the original content with the new content or save it as a new content block.

  1. Click the saved block within the designer that you wish to update.
  2. Make your updates.
  3. Hover over the ellipsis, then click the “Save as module” button.
  4. The right pane will show the previously saved block. Here you can:
    • Click “Update” to update the existing saved block, or
    • Click the chevron next to the “Update” button to save as a new content block

Delete a saved block

Once you delete a saved block, you will no longer be able to use it with your campaigns. Deleting a saved block will not remove it from draft campaigns that already use this block.

  1. From the email designer, click “Content” > “Saved Blocks” located on the right panel.
  2. Click the block you wish to delete.
  3. Click the ellipsis, then click the “Delete” option.
  4. A modal window will appear. Click the “Delete” button.

The saved block will be removed from your saved content library.

View saved blocks

There are a few different ways you can view saved content in your library: tile and list. To do so:

  1. From the campaign designer, click “Saved Blocks.”
  2. Click either option to view your saved blocks.

You can view saved blocks by an assigned category or tag. To do so:

  1. From the campaign designer, click “Saved Blocks.”
  2. Click the filter option.
  3. To view by category, click “Category” and then select the categories you want to view.
  4. To view by tag, click “Tag” and then select the tags you want to view.

Search for saved blocks

You can use the search bar to locate saved blocks by name, tag, or category. To do so:

  1. From the campaign designer, click “Saved Blocks.”
  2. Click the search field.
  3. Enter the name, tag, or category.
  4. Hit "Enter" or "Return" on your keyboard.

Saved content with the Classic Designer

You can add content blocks to your Saved Blocks library with the Classic Designer. You can also edit the saved block name and delete any saved blocks you create.

Create a saved block

  1. Locate the campaign containing the content you wish to save.
  2. Open the campaign and navigate to the designer.
  3. Click the content block you want to save.
  4. Click the gear icon > "Save to content library."

    save_to_content_library.jpg
  5. A modal window will appear. Type the name of the saved block into the field provided.
  6. Click “Save.”

Your block will save and appear on the right panel under Insert > Saved.

Saved_content_blocks.jpg

Add a saved block to a campaign

  1. From the campaign designer, click the “Saved” option.
  2. Drag the block to your campaign layout.

Update or delete a saved block

Once you create a saved block, you can edit its name or delete it. It is not possible to edit the contents of a saved block.

  1. From the campaign designer, click the “Saved” option
  2. Click the gear icon.
  3. A modal window will appear.
    • To rename the saved block, type the new name in the space provided and click “Close”
    • To delete the block, click “Delete this item” > “OK”

 

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 9 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Start free trial