Adding and deleting account users

If you are a user in the Admin group, you can add new users to your account and manage their permissions. If you are the Primary Account Admin, you can also delete account users. 

About user limits

A user is someone who can log into your ActiveCampaign account and manage various features. You might create a user account for people in your company who will help with your marketing and sales processes.

The number of users you can add to your account depends on what plan you have and when you purchased your ActiveCampaign account.

ActiveCampaign accounts created on or after September 21, 2022

Trial Lite  Plus Professional  Enterprise
Unlimited users

1 user seat included

Additional user seats at $19/user/mth

3 user limit

3 user seats included

Additional user seats at $19/user/mth

5 user seats included

Additional user seats at $49/user/mth

10 user seats included

Additional user seats at $99/user/mth


Where to view your user seat information

With the September 21, 2022 update, we will display your user seat information on the following pages:

  • Settings > Users and Groups
    We will show you how many user seats are filled and how many are empty.
  • Billing > Your Plan page
    We will show you the number of additional seats you purchased in the “Current Plan” box and the “Current Plan” column.
  • Billing > Usage page
    We will show you the total number of user seats associated with your account (included and purchased) and show you how many of those seats are assigned.

ActiveCampaign accounts created before September 21, 2022

Trial Lite Plus Professional  Enterprise
1 user 1 user 25 users 50 users Unlimited users

Assigning ActiveCampaign user seats

The instructions below show you how to assign a user seat. Once a user is assigned a seat, they can log into your shared ActiveCampaign account and manage various features. Note that you can also reassign seats to other people in your organization as needed.

To assign a user seat:

  1. Click “Settings” on the left menu.
  2. Click the “Users and Groups” option.
  3. Click the “Add a new user” button.
  4. A modal window will appear. Complete the fields provided.
  5. Click "Add user."

For more information on this topic, watch the "Understanding Users and Groups in your ActiveCampaign Settings" video. 

Purchasing new user seats

You can purchase a new user seat if all included seats are assigned. This can be done from the Billing & Upgrade page and the Settings > Users and Groups page in your account.

You can also remove purchased seats from the Billing & Upgrade page.

Billing and Upgrade page

Note that you do not need to fill all included seats in order to purchase additional seats from this page.

To purchase or remove an additional seat:

  1. Click your name on the lower left corner of your ActiveCampaign account.
  2. A modal window will appear. Click “Billing & Upgrade.”
  3. Click the “Usage” tab.
  4. Locate the “Users” box and click “Purchase additional user seats.”
  5. A modal window will appear. Use the plus (+) and minus (-) buttons to choose the number of seats you want to purchase or remove.
  6. Click the “Continue” button.
  7. Review the information on the next screen. To complete the purchase, click the “Confirm purchase” button.

Users and Groups page

Note that you need to fill all seats before you purchase additional seats from this page. To learn how to fill a seat, see the “Assigning ActiveCampaign user seats” section above.

To purchase an additional seat:

  1. Click “Settings” on the left menu.
  2. Click the “Users and Groups” option.
  3. Click the “Add a new user” button.
  4. A modal window will appear. Use the minus (-) and plus (+) buttons to choose the number of seats you want to purchase or remove.
  5. Click the “Continue” button.
  6. Review the information on the next screen. To complete the purchase, click the “Confirm purchase” button.

Deleting users from your ActiveCampaign account

Deleting account users will prevent those individuals from logging into your ActiveCampaign account and managing various features. You may want to delete an account user if the individual no longer works at your company or has changed roles within your organization.

Deleting a user will not remove the number of user seats associated with your account. Once a user is deleted, you can reassign the seat to another person in your organization or leave it empty.

Before deleting a user from your account, please note the following:

  • Only the Primary Account Admin can delete account users
  • Once you delete a user, the action cannot be undone
  • If the deleted user owns any lists, those lists will be reassigned to the Primary Account Admin
  • Any deleted user's deals will need to be assigned to a different user by the Primary Account Admin

Delete a user from your account:

  1. Click "Settings" located on the bottom left corner of your account.
  2. Click "Users and Groups" on the left menu.
  3. Locate the user you want to delete. Then either:
    • Click the checkbox next to their name, then click "Delete" or
    • Click the down caret next to the "Edit" button, then click "Delete"
  4. If the user you're deleting owns any deals in your account, a pop-up will appear where you need to reassign their deals to another user.
  5. A modal window will appear. Click the "Delete users" button. 

The user will be removed from your account. 

Was this article helpful?
17 out of 42 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Start free trial