Manage users

Marketing_Lite_Plus_Professional_Enterprise

Sales_Plus_Professional_Enterprise

Each ActiveCampaign account comes with at least one user. A user can log into your shared ActiveCampaign account and manage various features. In this article, you’ll learn how to assign user accounts, purchase additional users, and delete a user from your account.

Take note

  • All Admins can add new users and manage user permissions
  • All Admins can delete account users
  • If integrations are set up with a user’s API credentials, deleting the user will cause integrations to break. You must update affected integrations with another user's API credentials since there is no account default API
  • Pricing and purchasing for additional seats can be found on your Billing & Upgrade page

Account users included per plan

For new customers starting June 3, 2024:

Base plan name Users included with base plan Number of users you can purchase with the base plan

Pipelines add-on

[Included Users]

Pipelines & Sales Engagement add-on

[Included Users]

Starter 1 1 Not available Not available
Plus 1 No limit 1
Professional 3 No limit 3
Enterprise 5 No limit 5

 

Assign a user account

In addition to assigning a user, you can reassign users to other people in your organization as needed. 

To assign a user:

  1. Click Settings on the left menu.
  2. Click the “Users and Groups” option.
  3. Click the “Add a new user” button.
  4. A modal window will appear. Complete the fields provided.
  5. Click "Add user."

Purchase additional user seats

You can purchase a new user if all included user accounts are assigned. This can be done from the Billing & Upgrade page and the Settings > Users and Groups page in your account.

You can also remove purchased seats from the Billing & Upgrade page.

Billing and Upgrade page

You do not need to assign all included seats to purchase additional seats from this page.

To purchase or remove an additional seat:

  1. Click your name on the lower left corner of your ActiveCampaign account.
  2. A modal window will appear. Click “Billing & Upgrade.”
  3. Click the "Edit" link next to "X User Seat." This is under your plan name on the top right of your screen.
  4. A modal window will appear. Use the plus (+) and minus (-) buttons to choose the number of seats you want to purchase or remove.

  5. Click the “Continue” button.

  6. Review the information on the next screen. To complete the purchase, click the “Confirm purchase” button.

You can also purchase additional seats on the “Usage” page. Click the “Usage” tab on the Billing page to get there. You will see your current plan, number of contacts, and number of users. To purchase more user seats, click the “Purchase” link in the “Users” box and follow the steps to complete your purchase.

Users and Groups page

All seats must be assigned on the Users and Groups page before purchasing additional seats. 

To purchase an additional seat:

  1. Click Settings on the left menu.
  2. Click the “Users and Groups” option.
  3. Click the “Add a new user” button.
  4. A modal window will appear. Use the minus (-) and plus (+) buttons to choose the number of seats you want to purchase or remove.
  5. Click the “Continue” button.
  6. Review the information on the next screen. To complete the purchase, click the “Confirm purchase” button.

How to delete users from your ActiveCampaign account

Deleting account users prevents those individuals from logging into your ActiveCampaign account and managing various features. You may want to delete an account user if the individual no longer works at your company or changed roles within your organization.

Deleting a user does not remove the number of user seats associated with your account. Once a user is deleted, you can reassign the seat to another person in your organization or leave it empty.

This delete action cannot be undone.

To delete a user from your account:

  1. Click Settings on the left menu.
  2. Click "Users and Groups" on the left menu.
  3. Locate the user you want to delete. Then either:
    • Click the checkbox next to their name, then click "Delete" or
    • Click the down caret next to the "Edit" button, then click "Delete"
  4. If integrations are set up with a user’s API credentials, deleting the user will cause integrations to break. You must update affected integrations with another user's API credentials since there is no account default API.
  5. If the user owns any lists, you need to reassign them to another user.
  6. If the user owns any Accounts, you need to reassign them to another user.
  7. If the user owns any Deals or Tasks, you need to reassign them to another user.
  8. A modal will appear. Click the "Delete User" button

The user will be removed from your account. 

Was this article helpful?
30 out of 79 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Start free trial