How do I delete contacts?

Marketing_Lite_Plus_Professional_Enterprise

Sales_Plus_Professional_Enterprise

Take note

Once you delete a contact from your account, the action cannot be undone and we will not be able to recover them for you. It is also important to note that all accounts have a monthly delete limit. Once you reach that limit, you will not be able to delete any more contacts until your next billing period

How to delete a contact from the Contact Record

  1. Click Contacts on the left menu.
  2. Go to the profile page for that contact.
  3. Click the dropdown next to the "Send a Campaign" button at the top right.
  4. Select “Delete.”

    Delete option in the Action dropdown in a contact record.jpg

  5. Click “Delete” again to confirm this action. Click “Okay” to exit.

    Delete button.jpg

How to delete a contact or contacts from the Contacts Overview page

  1. Click Contacts on the left menu to get to the Contacts Overview page.
  2. Find the contact or contacts that you want to delete.
  3. Click the checkmark box next the contact or contacts you want to delete.
  4. Click the Delete button that appears next to the "Edit" button once you click a checkmark box.

    Delete button on Contacts Overview page.jpg

  5. Click the checkmark box to agree to the statement. Note that once you delete a contact the action cannot be undone.

    Delete Selected Contacts modal checkmark box.jpg

  6. Click "Delete."

Additional Notes

If you want to remove a group of contacts, you can use our List Cleanup tool. Note that this feature is only available on ActiveCampaign accounts created before February 22, 2022.

To remove unengaged contacts from your account, we recommend using the Engagement Management tool.

This help article contains information to help you prepare for GDPR. See Article 17, Right to erasure.

Click here to learn more about the GDPR.

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 65 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Start free trial