Automation revisions allow you to roll back to a previous version of your automation after modifying it.
This is especially helpful if you made a change to your automation and but then decided you need to revert to an earlier version. This can be done in both inactive and active automations. Every change you make to your automation is saved for you as you work.
How it works
To revert back to a previous version of your automation, click on the “turn back time” icon located on the upper right side of your screen, next to “View Emails.” There, you will see a list of all previous versions of your automation along with a timestamp of the revision and Gravatar of the user who made that change.
As you mouse over the previous versions of your automation, you will be presented with a “Preview” button.
Once you click on “Preview,” a modal window will appear, showing you a snapshot of what that earlier version looks like. To select it, click on “Use This.” This action will reload the page and the selected version of your automation is displayed and saved as the most recent revision.
What happens to your contacts when you revert to a previous version of your live automation
If contacts are currently in your automation when you click on “Use This” to revert to a previous version of your automation, you'll be shown each “Wait” action that currently has contacts in it. You will be able to choose if the contact should either exit the automation or get transferred to an existing “wait” action. You'll be able to select a “wait” action that shows up in the revision preview. Once you select your “wait” action and click on “Use This,” those contacts will be transferred.